CNBCUK reveals ‘green list’ of nations England residents can visit quarantine-free

May 7, 20210

A traveler exits a testing center at Heathrow Airport on January 17, 2021 in London.

Hollie Adams | Getty Images News | Getty Images

LONDON — British Transport Secretary Grant Shapps revealed on Friday the “green list” of countries that residents of England will soon be allowed to visit without having to quarantine on their return.

Travel has been tightly restricted during the most severe months of a second wave of the coronavirus pandemic. But from May 17, people in England will be allowed to visit certain countries, although some restrictions will still apply.

Twelve countries will be on England’s so-called “green list.” Travelers to these countries will need to be tested pre-departure and on their return. But they will not need to quarantine on their return.

The 12 countries are:





New Zealand




Faroe Islands

Falkland Islands

South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands

St. Helena, Tristan de Cunha, Ascension Island

Outside those 12, other nations have been divided into an “amber” and a “red” list — with the latter requiring the most stringent of measures. Turkey was one notable name added to the red list on Friday.

Popular destinations for Brits, such as France and Spain, have not been placed on the green list at this stage. Shapps said at a press conference on Friday that green list countries can have their status withdrawn at any time.

Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland will announce their own travel restrictions for their residents separately.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

700 Louisiana Street , Houston TX. 77002
(+1) 832-390-2738

Follow us:


Calls may be recorded for quality and training purposes.

Copyright © GMI 2020